FINALE FEELS: Scandal (Season 4)

End scene from Scandal Season 4 Finale

Final Shot from Episode 4×22 “You Can’t Take Command”

Another season of Scandal has come and gone with last night’s season 4 finale. This post is a little delayed but worth the wait, right? As an avid fan of this show, I have to say this finale felt a lot different from previous finales. Not to say that I wasn’t flipping out anxiously while I watched it (for a recap of my live thoughts and potent anxiety during the finale please refer to my Twitter feed, follow me @nikkiknowsitall) Here are some of my initial thoughts:

SPOILERS BELOW:

1) Shout out to the fact that every government agency in the Scandalverse knows about B613. The members of US society of the Scandalverse must feel so safe (Yup, I’m looking at you CIA director)

2) Maya really told her daughter about herself; Olivia really does validate herself through being needed by various people. But what I really wanna say is that Olivia’s mom is truly the definition of BAMF. In a delightfully selfish and evil way.

3) HONESTLY WHEN WILL ROWAN DIE?

4)…but B613 doesn’t exist anymore? Rowan literally plotted his own demise but I expect some major revenge coming from him next season (it’s funny because I imagine a playlist describing his imprisonment would include the classic Akon anthem, “Locked Up”)

5) I completely believed the hype on Twitter/Tumblr that Fitz was going to die. Every scene of his had me clutching my chest as if he would go down at any moment. I really thought I’d have to pour some out for a homie at the end of the episode #almostRIPFitz

6) YO QUINN I’MMA LET YOU FINISH BUT HUCK HAD THE BEST BACKSTORY OF ALL TIME (until he became an unredeemable, excessively violent dirtwipe). But DID SHE KILL HIM OR NAH? But on a serious note, the intensity of this scene, it was just amazing.

7) More Abby pls, less Elizabeth pls

8) Fitz took a note from Beyoncé with a “to the left, to the left,” and  a lemme take my “ring off” dismissal for Cyrus and Mellie. We’ve seen Fitz dismiss them countless times before but this time seemed final. I can’t wait to see the retribution Cyrus and Mellie will come up with next season.

9) Jake is gone? He just saw himself out? That’s it? I suspect that he’ll be back though. If you’re not dead, there’s always a chance for a comeback on the Scandalverse (see: that time BIlly Chambers wasn’t dead and was the mole in season 2,  that one time Stephen Finch appeared and saved Liv previously this season).

10) THE FINAL SCENE. I don’t even know. I feel so many emotions thinking about this. Fitz and Olivia? Together? At the end of the season (refer to: every other Scandal finale in which Olivia and Fitz invariably stay apart)? WHAT DOES THIS MEAN?

And in the spirit of “WHAT DOES THIS MEAN?” On my Scandal tumblr blog (AYOOOO), someone asked me where I see Scandal season 5 going. I’ve seen a lot of comments of people saying that this episode felt really final. And I would agree. However I think I see the next season really honing in on how relationships between certain characters have changed; I think really focusing on the characters and their journey after these huge turning points (Mellie & Cyrus gone from the White House, Olivia and Fitz actually together, Rowan in jail without existence of B613, the fate of Huck and Quinn’s ultimate decision in killing or sparing him, etc.) could lead to a nice wrap up of the ultimate story Scandal has been trying to tell throughout it’s run.

I say all of this in speculation and mostly an interest in seeing this on screen next season. It would be great to see how the Mellie and Cyrus v. Fitz (and probably by association, Olivia), Huck v. Quinn, Cyrus v. Elizabeth, Rowan v. Olivia etc. play out and the complexity of how these relationships used to be and how they end. Right now all of this is very unclear which is why despite the finale feeling final there are a few bits and pieces that need to be cleared up before anyone could say the show is over. And with that, here’s to another season gone and to the future of #5candal…

Scandal Season 4 End Tag

Scandal End Tag from 4×22

Leave a comment